Saturday, March 15, 2008

Noyes is Westbrook Teacher of the Year, Finalist for State Award

Gloria Noyes, Westbrook's 2008 Teacher of the Year, was in Augusta Friday to participate in a ceremony honoring the nine finalists for Maine's 2009 Teacher of the Year award.

Noyes, a fifth-grade teacher at Congin School, edged out Kim Walls (Prides Corner School), Jennifer Curtis (Saccarappa School), Jean Shorey (Canal School), Travis McCutcheon (Wescott Junior High School), Chris Conroy (Westbrook High School), and Darlene Bruns (Westbrook Regional Vocational Center) for Westbrook's 2008 Teacher of the Year award, so she now awaits the results of the state award which will be presented in September.

Two Westbrook teachers, Peter Lancia (now principal of Congin) and Todd Fields (now Director of the Westbrook Regional Vocational Center), have been named Maine's Teacher of the Year since 2000.

- John C.L. Morgan

P.S. Hat tip to the American Journal for providing the names of the Westbrook Teacher of the Year nominees.

No comments: